Group for Research in Decision Analysis

On the recommendation of the OIQ Executive Committee, Professor Diane Riopel was awarded, at the Gala de l'excellence 2013, the title of Fellow by Engineers Canada, a privilege reserved for those who have made a remarkable contribution to the engineering profession. Ms. Riopel received the honour for, among other achievements, her support for women in engineering. As a true pioneer in the profession, Ms. Riopel has worked in the Department of Mathematics and Industrial Engineering at Polytechnique since 1978.

Sourour Elloumi, École Nationale Supérieure d'Informatique pour l'Industrie et l'Entreprise, Evry, France

Georges Zaccour, holder of the Chair in Game Theory and Management, and GERAD member, received the 2012 Roger-Charbonneau Award for the book entitled Games and Dynamic Games, written with Alain Haurie and Jacek B Krawczyk.

Every year, HEC Montréal salutes its professors’ hard work and excellence at an award ceremony. Two of these distinctions, the Jean Guertin Award and the Pierre Laurin Award, for excellence in teaching and research, respectively, crown the particularly noteworthy careers of individuals who have gained their peers’ highest respect. This year, the Jean Guertin Award went to Professor Richard Déry, while two world-renowned researchers, Gilbert Laporte and Danny Miller, tied for the Pierre Laurin Award.

Bastien Talgorn, Research Engineer in Applied Mathematics, France