Group for Research in Decision Analysis

This octagonal whisky glass was designed to maximize its volume for a fixed diameter; the diagonals represented below share the same length. This glass was made in the honor of Pierre Hansen’s 70th birthday celebrated during the TOGO 2010 meeting in Toulouse.

Every two years, the International Society of Dynamic Games organizes an International Symposium on Dynamic Games and Applications. During the 14th edition, which occurred in Banff from June 19-24, 2010, M. Pablo Andrés Domenech received the "Best student presentation award" for is presentation named: Towards a sustainable and time consistent use of the forest.

Lors du congrès annuel MITACS-SCRO, qui se déroulait du 25 au 28 mai 2010, la Société canadienne de recherche opérationnelle a remis le 1er prix de la pratique 2010 à l'équipe constituée de : Gilbert Laporte, de HEC Montréal, Burcin Bozkaya, de l'Université Sabanci d'Istanbul, en Turquie, Erhan Erkut, de l'Université Ozyegin, aussi d'Istanbul, en Turquie, et Dan Haight, de l'Université de l'Alberta, à Edmonton. Leur projet consistait à effectuer le redécoupage de la carte électorale de la ville d'Edmonton.

The International Academy of Mathematical Chemistry newly elected Gilles Caporossi as a member.

Three of our members, also Professors in the Department of Management Sciences at HEC Montréal, will be in sabbatical leave from June 1, 2010 to May 31, 2011, they are:

On June 1, 2010, Chantal Labbé and Sylvain Perron have been promoted as Associate Professor of the Department of Management Sciences at HEC Montréal.

Sunday, October 10, 2010 at 13:00, M. Alain Hertz will be interviewed by Sophie-Andrée Blondin from the radio station of Radio-Canada (95.1 FM) regarding his latest book l'Agrapheur.

Alain Hertz, Odile Marcotte and Asma Mdimagh have developed innovative methods for the automatic generation of an optimal system for gathering energy in a windmill park.

Dynamic Games and Applications is devoted to the development of all classes of dynamic games, namely, differential games, discrete-time dynamic games, evolutionary games, repeated and stochastic games, and their applications.

Je m’appelle Maurice Manori. Je suis inspecteur de police à la Sûreté du Québec à l’Institut de Police Scientifique de Montréal. Bien que j’habite au Québec, mes origines sont italiennes. Mes collègues m’appellent tout simplement Manori. Je sais cependant que, derrière mon dos, certains me surnomment « l’agrapheur ». N’allez surtout pas imaginer que j’ai pour habitude de brandir une agrafeuse… j’agrafe les suspects à l’aide de la théorie des graphes. Je me trouve actuellement dans un avion, en direction de Genève. Je me rends en Suisse pour participer au congrès COPS de la Police Scientifique. J’ai pour mission de convaincre mes collègues que les graphes pourraient leur être utiles dans leurs enquêtes.

To learn more or to make an order, visit Les Presses internationales Polytechnique

We are proud to announce that Michel Perrier, Professor from École Polytechnique, has been nominated Chairman of the Chemical Engineering Department. Congratulations Michel!

McGill University's Professor Peter Caines has been the prestigious Henrick Bode lecturer at the IEEE Conference on Decision and Control in Shanghai, China, December 2009. This choice is in recognition of his distinguished contributions to Systems Science and Engineering. He has presented his work with Roland Malhamé and their common Ph.D. student Minyi Huang, now Professor at the Mathematics and Statistics Department of Carleton University.