Group for Research in Decision Analysis

Two scholarships of $10 000 each respectively will be attributed to:

  • Samuel Goyette, M.Sc. student, cosupervised by Jean-Pierre Dussault and Dominique Orban;
  • Marie Pied, M.Sc. student, cosupervised by Miguel Anjos and Roland Malhamé.


Miguel F. Anjos, Professor at Polytechnique Montréal, has been elevated to the grade of IEEE Senior member. IEEE Senior Membership is an honor bestowed only to those who have made significant contributions to the profession.


Laurence Haguenauer, Consul General of France in Québec presented the badge of Chevalier dans l’Ordre des Palmes Académiques to Gilles Savard, general director of the Institute for data valorization (IVADO).

With this decoration, the French government wanted to recognize his brilliant career in the field of mathematics and operational research as well as his invaluable contribution to the cooperation between France and Quebec.

For more information

Professor James Forbes was recently named as a William Dawson Scholar. Professor Forbes joins a select group of early-career professors at McGill University who have demonstrated particular promise. More specifically, "The William Dawson Scholar award recognizes a scholar developing into an outstanding and original researcher of world-class caliber who is poised to become a leader in his or her field, similar to that of a CRC Tier II chair holder."
Read more

On May 7th, Charles Gauvin won the 2017 GERAD Best Thesis Competition for his thesis titled "Méthodes d'optimisation robuste pour le problème de gestion de réservoirs". He was supervised by Michel Gendreau at Polytechnique Montréal and Erick Delage at HEC Montréal.

The last issue of the Newsletter is now available. Enjoy!

  • Spotlights on ... - Pushing blackbox and derivative-free optimization into the mainstream
  • Impact papers - Extracting latent states from high-frequency options prices
  • Collaborations - MILA: Artificial intelligence for good
  • Actions and Interactions - 2018 thematic year: Smart cities
  • Who are they? - Mehiddin Al-Baali
  • Postdoctoral fellows - Amine Amrouss, Margarida Carvalho, Amir Farshbaf-Geranmayeh, Patrick Munroe
  • Where are they now? - Ramla Jarrar, Goran Stojkovic, Marnie Vodounou