Group for Research in Decision Analysis

Three new members have joined GERAD’s research group. Indeed, at our last members’ meeting held on January 20, 2006, Michel Perrier (École Polytechnique de Montréal), Frank Galiana (McGill University) and Shie Mannor (McGill University) became members. Futhermore, David McDonald (University of Ottawa) has joined the research group as an associate member.

Gilbert Laporte, holder of the Canada Research Chair in Distribution Management and Full Professor, Department of Management Sciences, reveived the 2005 Pierre Laurin Award. This award recognizes research conducted over the past three years.

Gilbert Laporte, holder of the Canada Research Chair in Distribution Management, received the 2004 Glover-Klingman Award, recognizing the best article published in the Networks journal in 2004. Professor Laporte received the award for his article The Ring Star Problem: Polyhedral nalysis and Exact Algorithm, a distinction he shares with co-authors Martine Labbé, of the Université libre de Bruxelles (Belgium), and Juan José Salazar González and Inmaculada Rodríguez Martín, both of the Universidad de La Laguna (Spain).

On June 23, the GERAD Executive committee officially announced Roland Malhamé as director of the Center.

The Montreal Operations Research Network was officially launched on May 3, 2005. In collaboration with the Université de Montréal, École Polytechnique de Montréal and HEC Montréal, the RROM gathers more than 35 professors from these three institutions who have been active in the operations research field for more than 30 years and are, for most of them, affiliated to the Center for Research on Transportation (CRT) or to the Group for Research in Decision Analysis (GERAD).

On the Group for Research in Decision Analysis (GERAD) 25th anniversary, professor John F. Nash gave a plenary talk on game theory entitled “New Methods for the Study of Cooperation in Games” at the Optimization Days conference on May 11 2005, in HEC Montréal's IBM auditorium.

Gilbert Laporte, Director of the Canada Research Chair in Distribution Management, received the TSL Best Paper Award from the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (Transportation Science and Logistics Section), for his article "An Integer L-Shaped Algorithm for the Capacitated Vehicle Routing Problem with Stochastic Demands ". Co-write with François V. Louveaux, professor, Facultés universitaires Notre-Dame de la Paix, Namur, and Luc Van hamme, analyst, OM Partners, Brasschaat, in Belgium, this article was published in the review Operations Research *.

We want to congradulate Madame Michèle Breton who got the Pierre-Laurin prize. This price rewards the production for research carried out during three last years of a full professor or invited to the row of holder or of an enquiring holder.

We want to congradulate Mr Gilbert Laporte who got the Pierre-Laurin prize. This price rewards the teaching quality a the work published during the year and written by professors, researchers, responsible for formation.

We want to congradulate Bruno Rémillard, a full professor with the Department of Management Sciences, who has received the award for the best article of 2003 from The Canadian Journal of Statistics, for his article entitled Nonparametric weighted symmetry tests. In the article, co-authored with Belkacem Abdous of Université Laval and Kilani Ghoudi of the United Arab Emirates University, Mr. Rémillard presents the findings of two studies, one of which examines fluctuations in retail gas prices, used to statistically validate the weighted symmetry hypothesis.

Peter Caines is widely recognized for his contributions to the theory of stochastic system identification, is the coauthor of work on the adaptive control of deterministic and stochastic systems which was recognized as a seminal contribution to control theory in the twentieth century and is the author of a standard text on stochastic systems.

Brunilde Sansò won the best paper award for "A method for the Integrated Design of Reliable GMPLS Networks" (par F. Mobiot, B. Sansò et A. Girard) at DRCN (Design of Reliable Communication Networks) Conference, last October 20, Banff, Alberta.

Brunilde Sansò and Frédéric Bodevin won the second prize of the "OR Practice" competition of the Canadien Operational Research Society for their work entitled "Assessing user QoS in a deployed GPRS network".