Group for Research in Decision Analysis

Congratulations to Professor Gilles Savard for his nomination as the new Director of Research and Innovation, at École Polytechnique de Montréal, from August 13, 2007 to August 31, 2011.

Gilles Caporossi, member of GERAD and Assistant Professor, Department of Management Sciences at HEC Montréal, received the Promising Young Scientist Award at the 3rd Meeting of the International Academy of Mathematical Chemistry at Dubrovnik, June 7-9, 2007.

Soheil Saberi, an M.Sc.A. student codirected by Roland Malhamé (GERAD) and Lorne Mason (McGill) received the best paper award in June 2007 at the International Conference on Network Control and Optimization, Avignon, France for the paper entitled “Pricing for QoS Provisioning across Multiple Interner Service Provider Domains”, by S. Saberi, R. Malhamé and Lorne Mason.

GERAD's Newsletter of May 2007 is now available on our website.

The names of our winners within our internal GERAD post doctoral competition. The selection committee has declared Ms Lucia Sbragia and Mr Moustapha Aouchiche ex aequo first and the winners each of a half post doc GERAD fellowship of $15000, to be complemented by the GERAD researchers who backed their candidacy. Given the position as second of Mr Dan Lansana Kourouma, he will receive one quarter of a scholarship, i.e. $7500.

Five new members have joined GERAD’s research group. Indeed, at our last members’ meeting held on September 15, 2006, Marc Fredette, Chantal Labbé and Sylvain Perron (HEC Montréal), François Watier (UQAM) and Jean-François Frigon (École Polytechnique de Montréal) became members.

The Italian Society of Operations Research (AIRO) nominated Pierre Hansen foreign AIRO fellow at their annual meeting which was held in Cesena, Italy in September 2006. It is the first time that AIRO nominates Fellows and the two others who received this title are professors Paolo Toth (Bologna) and Giorgio Gallo (Pisa).

Georges Zaccour, holder of the Chair in Game Theory and Management and Full Professor, Department of Marketing, reveived the 2006 Pierre Laurin Award. This award recognizes research conducted over the past three years.

Jean-François Cordeau, holder of the Canada Research Chair in Logistics and Transportation and Associate Professor, Department of Logistics and Operations Management, reveived the Chenelière Éducation/Gaëtan Morin Award. This award recognizes research conducted over the past three years.

Maryse Labriet has been honoured an Academic Medal by the Governor General of Canada on October 17, 2005. She has been awarded the Gold Medal for her thesis entitled "Modélisation technico-économique de scénarios globaux coopératifs et non-coopératifs de réduction des gaz à effet de serre".

Professor Pierre Duchesne received the Best Canadian Financial Market Paper Award for a research paper entitled Intraday Value at Risk (IVaR) Using Tick-by-Tick Data with Application to the Toronto Stock Exchange. Professor Duchesne co-wrote the article with Professor Georges Dionne, holder of the Canada Research Chair in Risk Management at HEC Montréal and Professor Maria Pacurar of the Dalhousie University School of Business Administration. The authors received this distinction at the Northern Finance Association conference, held in Montréal from September 15 to 17.

It is a pleasure to inform you that Professor Georges Zaccour's name has been added to the list of chairholders at HEC Montréal since September 1, 2006. His Chair is entitled Game Theory and Management.

The nomination of Jean-François Cordeau, professor at HEC Montréal, was retained for the creation of a Canada Research Chair in Logistics and Transportation. The official announcement was made last Friday, April 28, 2006, at Université Laval by the Honorable Maxime Bernier, minister of industry and minister responsible for the Canada Research Chairs Program.