Group for Research in Decision Analysis

Gilbert Laporte, holder of the Canada Research Chair in Distribution Management, and GERAD member, received the 2007 Innis-Gérin Medal from the Royal Society of Canada (RSC).

Anne Mercier, a Ph.D. student directed by François Soumis, École Polytechnique de Montréal and GERAD, received the 2007 Best dissertation prize from the Aviation Applications Section of INFORMS, for her thesis entitled "Méthodes de décomposition pour la planification intégrée des itinéraires d'avions et des rotations d'équipages". This year, nine theses from all around the world were in competition for this high level contest.

Gilbert Laporte, holder of the Canada Research Chair in Distribution Management, and GERAD member, received the 2007 Roger-Charbonneau Award for the book entitled Transportation, written with Cynthia Barnhart.

Congratulations to Professor Gilles Savard for his nomination as the new Director of Research and Innovation, at École Polytechnique de Montréal, from August 13, 2007 to August 31, 2011.

Gilles Caporossi, member of GERAD and Assistant Professor, Department of Management Sciences at HEC Montréal, received the Promising Young Scientist Award at the 3rd Meeting of the International Academy of Mathematical Chemistry at Dubrovnik, June 7-9, 2007.

Soheil Saberi, an M.Sc.A. student codirected by Roland Malhamé (GERAD) and Lorne Mason (McGill) received the best paper award in June 2007 at the International Conference on Network Control and Optimization, Avignon, France for the paper entitled “Pricing for QoS Provisioning across Multiple Interner Service Provider Domains”, by S. Saberi, R. Malhamé and Lorne Mason.

GERAD's Newsletter of May 2007 is now available on our website.

The names of our winners within our internal GERAD post doctoral competition. The selection committee has declared Ms Lucia Sbragia and Mr Moustapha Aouchiche ex aequo first and the winners each of a half post doc GERAD fellowship of $15000, to be complemented by the GERAD researchers who backed their candidacy. Given the position as second of Mr Dan Lansana Kourouma, he will receive one quarter of a scholarship, i.e. $7500.

Five new members have joined GERAD’s research group. Indeed, at our last members’ meeting held on September 15, 2006, Marc Fredette, Chantal Labbé and Sylvain Perron (HEC Montréal), François Watier (UQAM) and Jean-François Frigon (École Polytechnique de Montréal) became members.

The Italian Society of Operations Research (AIRO) nominated Pierre Hansen foreign AIRO fellow at their annual meeting which was held in Cesena, Italy in September 2006. It is the first time that AIRO nominates Fellows and the two others who received this title are professors Paolo Toth (Bologna) and Giorgio Gallo (Pisa).

Georges Zaccour, holder of the Chair in Game Theory and Management and Full Professor, Department of Marketing, reveived the 2006 Pierre Laurin Award. This award recognizes research conducted over the past three years.