Software Tools

Software Development at GERAD

Since the creation of GERAD, our members have developed or collaborated in the development of several software tools for solving complex theoretical or industrial problems, which are used extensively by industry or by the research and student communities. Most of these software programs are freely available or open source, while several others are commercial. Below is a brief description of the most important work undertaken in this area as well as links to more information on how to access these software programs, where applicable.

NOMAD

  • Professor Charles Audet and Sébastien Le Digabel and their team have developed NOMAD – a black box optimization software. A black box optimization problem consists in minimizing an objective subject to constraints, where different functions defining the problem may require the execution of one or more simulations. In the context of optimization, the objective is to find the best feasible solution given a limited evaluation budget. This research work has been extended to apply to the optimization of hyperparameters of deep neural networks, leading to the creation of the HyperNOMAD software program. Both of these programs are open source.

AutoGraphiX (AGX)

  • Professor Gilles Caporossi has developed AutoGraphiX (AGX), a free computer system designed to help researchers in graph theory. The main objective of AGX is to search for extremal graphs, i.e. graphs that minimize or maximize a graph invariant (or a function of graph invariants, which could also be considered an invariant).

GENCOL

  • Professors Guy Desaulniers, Jacques Desrosiers and François Soumis have developed the commercial software program GENCOL, which is used to solve applications whose solutions can be represented as pathways in networks. These pathways correspond, for example, to bus schedules or to rotations (pairs) of pilots and flight attendants who operate the flights offered by an airline. The methodology used – column generation – allows for solving problems with a few hundred million such pathways in school, air, urban, rail and sea transportation. In addition to column generation, dynamic constraint aggregation and integral simplex techniques using decomposition have also been integrated into GENCOL, with the collaboration of Professor Issmail El Hallaoui, allowing for solution of problems on a greater scale.

Professor Dominique Orban has developed or participated in the development of numerous software programs, notably for continuous and nonlinear optimization:

GALAHAD

  • GALAHAD is a library of Fortran 2003 packages for solving continuous nonlinear optimization problems. The areas covered by the library are unconstrained and bound-constrained non-linear optimization, and particularly convex and nonconvex quadratic optimization, systems of nonlinear equation and inequalities and nonlinear least squares problems.

JuliaSmoothOptimizers

  • JuliaSmoothOptimizers is an open source environment on GitHub, consisting of a collection of Julia routines for the development, testing and benchmarking of nonlinear optimization software. This environment provides tools for model building, accessing problem directories, subproblem solving, linear algebra and problem solving.

PythonOptimizers

  • PythonOptimizers is an open source Python environment for modelling and solving continuous optimization problems, and is available on GitHub.

CUTEst

  • Finally, CUTEst is an open source modelling and testing environment for unconstrained and bound-constrained optimization software. CUTEst is written in 2003, but interfaces in Fortran 77 and C and can be accessed using other languages such as MATLAB, Python and Julia.

Outils logiciels

Le développement logiciel au GERAD

Depuis la création du GERAD, les membres qui y sont associés ont développé ou collaboré au développement de plusieurs logiciels solutionnant des problèmes théoriques ou industriels complexes, qui sont utilisés de manière exhaustive par l'industrie ou par les communautés de recherche et étudiante. La majorité de ces logiciels sont disponibles gratuitement ou en source libre, certains autres sont commerciaux. Ci-dessous se trouve une brève description des efforts les plus importants dans cette direction ainsi que, le cas échéant, les liens menant vers plus d'information pour accéder aux logiciels.

NOMAD

  • Les professeurs Charles Audet et Sébastien Le Digabel et leur équipe ont développé le logiciel NOMAD – Optimisation de boîtes noires. Un problème d'optimisation par boîte noire consiste à minimiser un objectif soumis à des contraintes, où les différentes fonctions définissant le problème peuvent nécessiter l'exécution d'une ou de plusieurs simulations. Dans le contexte de l'optimisation, l'objectif est de trouver la meilleure solution réalisable compte tenu d'un budget limité d'évaluations. Une extension de ces travaux appliquée à l'optimisation des hyperparamètres des réseaux de neurones profonds a mené à la création du logiciel HyperNOMAD. Ces deux logiciels sont disponibles en source libre.

AutoGraphiX (AGX)

  • Le professeur Gilles Caporossi a développé le logiciel AutoGraphiX (AGX), un logiciel gratuit conçu pour aider les chercheurs en théorie des graphes. L'objectif principal d'AGX est de rechercher des graphes extrémaux, c'est-à-dire des graphes minimisant ou maximisant un invariant de graphe (ou une fonction d'invariants de graphe, qui pourrait aussi être considéré comme un invariant).

GENCOL

  • Les professeurs Guy Desaulniers, Jacques Desrosiers et François Soumis ont développé le logiciel commercial GENCOL. Il est utilisé pour résoudre des applications dont les solutions peuvent être représentées sous forme de chemins dans les réseaux. Ces trajets correspondent par exemple à des horaires d'autobus ou à des rotations (pairs) de pilotes et d'agents de bord qui assurent les vols proposés par une compagnie aérienne. La méthodologie utilisée – la génération de colonnes – permet de résoudre des problèmes avec quelques centaines de millions de tels chemins, et ce, dans les transports scolaires, aériens, urbains, ferroviaires et maritimes. Se combinant à la génération de colonnes, des techniques d'agrégation dynamique de contraintes et de simplexe intégral utilisant la décomposition ont aussi été intégrées dans GENCOL, avec la collaboration du professeur Issmail El Hallaoui, afin de permettre la résolution de problèmes de plus grande envergure.

Le professeur Dominique Orban a développé ou participé au développement de nombreux logiciels particulièrement pour l'optimisation continue et non linéaire :

GALAHAD

  • GALAHAD est une bibliothèque de routines Fortran 2003 disponible en version gratuite permettant de résoudre des problèmes d'optimisation continue non linéaires. Les domaines couverts sont l'optimisation non linéaire avec et sans contraintes, et en particulier l'optimisation quadratique convexe et non convexe, les systèmes d'équations et d'inéquations non linéaires et les problèmes des moindres carrés non linéaires.

JuliaSmoothOptimizers

  • JuliaSmoothOptimizers est un environnement en source libre sur GitHub, contenant une collection de routines Julia pour le développement, les tests et l'analyse comparative de logiciels d'optimisation non linéaire. Sont fournis des outils pour la construction de modèles, l'accès aux référentiels de problèmes, la résolution de sous-problèmes, l'algèbre linéaire et la résolution de problèmes.

PythonOptimizers

  • PythonOptimizers est un environnement Python de modélisation et de résolution de problèmes d'optimisation continue qui est en source libre sur GitHub.

CUTEst

  • Enfin, CUTEst est un environnement en source libre de modélisation et de test pour les logiciels d'optimisation avec et sans contraintes. CUTEst est écrit en Fortran 2003, mais des interfaces en Fortran 77 et en C permettent un appel depuis d'autres langages, tels que MATLAB, Python et Julia.