Group for Research in Decision Analysis

Doctoral thesis defence of Aichouche Oubraham

June 23, 2021

Title: Essays on Ecological and Economic Viability of Agricultural Systems

Date: June 23, 2021
Time: 9:00 to 12:00

Zoom link: https://hecmontreal.zoom.us/j/82633714878?pwd=WTNtWVdkSXNONkZsRmNock9lZjdIQT09

Jury members:
President: Debbie J.Dupuis
Supervisor: Georges Zaccour
Member: Hassan Benchekroun
External member: Luc Doyen

Abstract: In this thesis, composed of three essays, we use viability theory (VT) to address soil restoration problems subject to some environmental and socio-economic constraints such as reaching an environmentally acceptable quality of the soil and ensuring acceptable incomes for the farmers.

Our objective is to study these problems in different frameworks that take into account some of the most important factors that influence them such as uncertainties (climatic uncertainties) and farm practices (parcellation) in order to gain insight into how the agronomic systems react to these factors and to what extent they are sensitive to them and thus have a more precise idea of the strategies that can be put in place to achieve the objectives of soil restoration and preservation.

More specifically, we use viability theory to study the problem of soil restoration of a parcel subject to climatic uncertainty (hurricanes) as well as the effects of parceling in a deterministic context. Our empirical study concerns the archipelago of Guadeloupe, located in the French West Indies.

Keywords: Viability Theory; Agriculture; Climatic Uncertainty; Multi-parcel; Sustainability; Renewable resources.

Groupe d’études et de recherche en analyse des décisions

Soutenance de thèse de doctorat d'Aichouche Oubraham

23 juin 2021

Titre: Essays on Ecological and Economic Viability of Agricultural Systems

Date : 23 juin 2021
Heure : 9:00 à 12:00

Lien Zoom: https://hecmontreal.zoom.us/j/82633714878?pwd=WTNtWVdkSXNONkZsRmNock9lZjdIQT09

Membres du jury:
Président: Debbie J.Dupuis
Directeur de recherche: Georges Zaccour
Membre: Hassan Benchekroun
Membre externe: Luc Doyen

Résumé : Dans cette thèse, composée de trois essais, nous utilisons la théorie de la viabilité pour aborder les problèmes de restauration des sols soumis à certaines contraintes environnementales et socio-économiques telles que l'atteinte d'une qualité du sol acceptable sur le plan environnemental et la garantie de revenus acceptables pour les agriculteurs.

Notre objectif est d'étudier ces problèmes dans différents cadres qui prennent en compte certains des facteurs les plus influents tels que les incertitudes (incertitudes climatiques) et les pratiques agricoles (la parcellation) afin de mieux comprendre comment les systèmes agronomiques réagissent à ces facteurs et dans quelle mesure ils y sont sensibles. Et ce, afin d'avoir une idée plus précise des stratégies pouvant être mises en place pour atteindre les objectifs de restauration et de préservation des sols.

Plus particulièrement, nous utilisons la théorie de viabilité pour étudier le problème de restauration du sol d’une parcelle soumise à de l’incertitude climatique (ouragans) ainsi que les effets de la parcellation dans un contexte déterministe. Notre étude empirique concerne l’archipel de Guadeloupe, situé dans les Antilles françaises.

Mots-clés : Théorie de la viabilité ; Agriculture; Incertitude climatique; Multi-Parcelle; Durabilité ; Ressources renouvelables.