Back

G-2021-47

Self-image and the stability of international environmental agreements

and

BibTeX reference

In this paper we examine the stability of international environmental agreements about a (common) emissions target. By signing the agreement, the parties develop a sense of responsibility to the commitment made, gaining a self-image that contributes to their utility.

We study a dynamic two-stage game where all countries act individualistically. We investigate how two fundamental components of the model, that is, the ambition of the pledge and the relative importance given to compliance to the commitment, affect the stability and efficiency of the agreement in terms of global welfare and total emissions.

We find that participation is the key driver of all the results and that it is negatively related to the ambition of the pledge and positively related to countries' level of concern about environmental issues.

, 31 pages

Research Axis

Research application

Document

G2147.pdf (2 MB)

Groupe d’études et de recherche en analyse des décisions

G-2021-47

Self-image and the stability of international environmental agreements

et

Nous étudions la stabilité des accords environnementaux internationaux portant sur une cible commune pour le niveau d'émissions polluantes. En signant l'accord, les parties développent un sens des responsabilités vis-à-vis de l'engagement pris, acquérant une image de soi qui contribue à leur utilité.

Nous analysons un jeu dynamique en deux étapes où tous les pays agissent de manière indépendante. Nous étudions comment deux composantes fondamentales du modèle, à savoir le niveau (ambition) de l'engagement et l'importance relative accordée par les signataires au respect de leur engagement, affectent la stabilité et l'efficacité de l'accord en termes de bien-être global et d'émissions totales.

Nous constatons que la participation à l'accord constitue le moteur clé des résultats. La participation diminue avec l'ambition de l'engagement et augmente avec le niveau de préoccupation des pays pour les questions environnementales.

, 31 pages