Group for Research in Decision Analysis

G-2020-57

Comptes rendus du neuvième atelier de résolution de problèmes industriels de Montréal, 19-23 août 2019 / Proceedings of the ninth Montréal industrial problem solving workshop, August 19-23, 2019

The Ninth Montreal IPSW took place on August 19-23, 2019, and was jointly organized by the CRM and IVADO (Institute for Data Valorization). The workshop welcomed more than 100 participants and allowed nine teams to study problems submitted by the National Research Council of Canada (NRC) and five companies or institutions: Radio-Canada (the French network of the CBC), the Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF) of the Québec Government, Air Canada, Desjardins, and The Co-operators. Four of these companies were already IVADO partners: The Co-operators was not an IVADO partner but made a financial contribution to the workshop, as did the NRC and CANSSI (the Canadian Statistical Sciences Institute).

The problems submitted to the workshop were varied and required expertise from diverse fields. Those submitted by Radio-Canada and the AMF required expertise in NLP (Natural Language Processing): Philippe Langlais (U. de Montréal) and Jian-Yun Nie (U. de Montréal) were the respective coordinators of the teams studying these problems. Air Canada provided the workshop with three problems, i.e., two problems in revenue management and a third on the optimization of a loyalty program (Aeroplan). The three corresponding teams were led (respectively) by Fabian Bastin (U. de Montréal), François Bellavance (HEC Montréal), and Margarida Carvalho (U. de Montréal).

An insurance group within Desjardins submitted a problem on the geographic stratification of risk, whose coordinators were Philippe Gagnon (Oxford and U. de Montréal) and Juliana Schulz (HEC Montréal). The Co-operators submitted a problem on fraud detection: its coordinator was Anas Abdallah (McMaster). The NRC submitted two problems: one on structure representation, whose team was led by Guy Wolf (U. de Montréal), a researcher in artificial intelligence; and another on the unsupervised learning of novel RFI sources. The latter problem was submitted by a group of astronomers and was studied by a team led by Professor Chris Budd (Bath).

, 112 pages

Groupe d’études et de recherche en analyse des décisions

G-2020-57

Comptes rendus du neuvième atelier de résolution de problèmes industriels de Montréal, 19-23 août 2019 / Proceedings of the ninth Montréal industrial problem solving workshop, August 19-23, 2019

Le Neuvième atelier de résolution de problèmes industriels de Montréal, qui eut lieu du 19 au 23 août 2019, fut organisé conjointement par le CRM et l'Institut de valorisation des données (IVADO). Il attira plus de 100 participants et permit à neuf équipes d'examiner des problèmes fournis par le Conseil national de recherches du Canada (CNRC) et cinq compagnies ou institutions : Radio-Canada, l'Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF), Air Canada, Desjardins et Co-operators. Quatre de ces compagnies ou institutions étaient déjà des partenaires d'IVADO : seule la compagnie Co-operators ne l'était pas mais elle apporta une contribution financière à l'organisation de l'atelier. Le CNRC et l'Institut canadien des sciences statistiques firent aussi une contribution à l'atelier.

Les problèmes provenaient de domaines variés et requéraient des expertises diverses. Les problèmes soumis par Radio-Canada et l'AMF relevaient du traitement de la langue naturelle : Philippe Langlais (U. de Montréal) et Jian-Yun Nie (U. de Montréal) coordonnaient respectivement les équipes qui les ont examinés. Air Canada fournit trois problèmes à l'atelier : deux problèmes reliés à la gestion du revenu et un autre sur l'optimisation d'un programme de fidélité (Aeroplan). Les équipes étudiant les trois problèmes d'Air Canada avaient pour coordonnateurs respectifs Fabian Bastin (U. de Montréal), François Bellavance (HEC Montréal) et Margarida Carvalho (U. de Montréal).

La compagnie Desjardins soumit un problème de segmentation et lissage de territoires dont les coordonnateurs étaient Philippe Gagnon (Oxford et U. de Montréal) et Juliana Schulz (HEC Montréal), et Co-operators un problème sur la détection de fraudes dont le coordonnateur était Anas Abdallah (McMaster). Le CNRC fournit un problème de représentation de structure requérant une expertise en intelligence artificielle : Guy Wolf (U. de Montréal) était le coordonnateur de ce problème. Le deuxième problème du CNRC fut soumis par des astronomes et portait sur la détection de radio-fréquences dans le cadre de la surveillance d'un site~: le professeur Chris Budd (Bath) coordonnait les travaux de l'équipe examinant ce problème.

, 112 pages