Group for Research in Decision Analysis

Communicating OR/MS: The Writing and Presenting Activities

Overview

After three successful editions, the scientific writing activity is back, and goes online! In a few words, the scientific writing activity is a wonderful opportunity to discover the publication and peer review processes. This activity includes a Q&A session with Professor Gilbert Laporte on writing scientific papers and three group meeting sessions to promote the exchange of ideas. During the activity we will ask you to write a short scientific paper (i.e. extended abstract) that will be revised by the other participants. A final paper must be submitted by the end of April 2021. See the global schedule.

For this activity, the best papers will be selected and recognized by a panel of judges. We ask that people interested in the activity register before October 16th by following this link. Registered participants will receive presentation slides from Professor Laporte on good writing practices and will have to be familiar with the content before the Q&A session. This will be used as a basis for the first webinar which is a Q&A session with Professor Laporte that will take place on October 30th at 2pm. As the whole activity will take place online, all students are welcome to participate, whether they are in Montréal, in Québec, or someplace more exotic !

The oral communication activity that took place last year will be revisited given the current COVID-19 situation. We plan to have a webinar on good oral practices, with a special attention to webinars presentation skills. There is also a possibility of having a webinar on the use of the LaTeX class Beamer. We will keep you posted.

We are looking forward to seeing you at the writing activity and do not hesitate if you have any questions!

Important dates

  • October 16, 2020 - Registration deadline.

  • October 30, 2020 - "Writing a scientific paper" Q&A session with Gilbert Laporte.

  • November 20, 2020 - First writing group session.

  • December 11, 2020 - Second writing group session.

  • January 8, 2021 - Extended abstract submission deadline.

  • February 12, 2021 - Review submission.

  • March 5, 2021 - Third writing group session.

  • April 9, 2021 - Final submission .

Registration

CommunicatingOR_MS20-21.pdf (100 KB)

Groupe d’études et de recherche en analyse des décisions

Activités de rédaction et de présentation scientifiques en sciences de la décision

Vue d'ensemble

Après trois éditions couronnées de succès, l’activité de rédaction scientifique revient cette année, en version virtuelle! En quelques mots, l’activité de rédaction scientifique est une excellente occasion d'apprendre et d'expérimenter les processus de publication et de révision par des pairs. L'activité comprend une séance de questions/réponses virtuelle avec le Professeur Gilbert Laporte sur la rédaction d'articles scientifiques et trois rencontres en groupe afin de guider le processus de rédaction. Durant l’activité, vous rédigerez un court article scientifique qui sera révisé par les autres participants, pour simuler au complet le processus de révision d’article par les pairs. Un article final sera à soumettre avant la fin avril 2021. Voir le programme global.

Pour cette activité, les meilleurs articles seront sélectionnés par un panel de juges et recevront des prix. Nous demandons aux personnes intéressées de bien vouloir s’inscrire avant le 16 octobre en suivant ce lien. Les personnes inscrites recevront par courriel un PDF d’une présentation du Professeur Laporte sur les bonnes pratiques de rédaction et devront se familiariser avec l’information contenue dans la présentation avant la séance de questions/réponses. Une première séance virtuelle de questions/réponses avec le Professeur Laporte sera organisée le 30 octobre à 14h. Comme tout le processus se fera en ligne, tout le monde peut s’inscrire, qu’on soit à Montréal, à Québec, ou ailleurs !

L'activité de communication orale qui avait eu lieu l’an passé sera revisitée cette année en raison du contexte actuel. Nous planifions toutefois organiser un webinaire sur les bonnes pratiques de présentation orale, avec un accent sur les spécificités des webinaires. Un atelier sur l’utilisation de la classe Beamer est également à l’étude. Nous vous recontacterons en temps et lieux avec plus de détails.

Au plaisir de vous retrouver pour l’activité de rédaction et n’hésitez pas si vous avez des questions!

Dates importantes

  • 16 octobre 2020 - Date limite pour l’inscription à l’activité.

  • 30 octobre 2020 - "Writing a scientific paper" Q&A session avec Gilbert Laporte.

  • 20 novembre 2020 - Première rencontre de groupe.

  • 11 décembre 2020 - Deuxième rencontre de groupe.

  • 8 janvier 2021 - Soumission d'un résumé étendu.

  • 12 février 2021 - Commentaires des arbitres.

  • 5 mars 2021 - Troisième rencontre de groupe.

  • 9 avril 2021 - Soumission finale.

Inscription

CommunicatingOR_MS20-21.pdf (110 Ko)