Group for Research in Decision Analysis

What is being done at GERAD?

Decision mathematics (DM)

GERAD researchers (professors, professional researchers, postdoctoral trainees, students) are interested in all types of decision math. They develop mathematical models and methods to study/analyze/solve practical problems in various application areas, and to help organizations (private companies or government agencies) make better decisions. Decision mathematics falls under data science and are the foundation of the emerging discipline of analytics (the creation of useful knowledge from big data and from existing expert knowledge). Decision mathematics encompass all or parts of operations research, mathematical optimization, decision support, games theory, simulation and statistics. In practice, decision mathematics are often combined with other disciplines such as computing, artificial intelligence, geomatics, and new information and communication technologies (NICT).

Applications

Many areas of application are being pursued at GERAD: transportation, logistics, energy, the environment, natural resources, telecommunications, engineering, finance, marketing, health and more. Here you’ll find our major research axes and themes. Below we describe examples of applications being handled at GERAD.

Research projects

The research projects conducted at GERAD are often derived from real-life applications that conventional methods do not handle well. In such cases, researchers develop models and solution methods (algorithms) to handle these applications. To do so, they must very often produce theoretical results to analyze how the proposed methods behave and to verify their accuracy. Other projects can emerge directly from known mathematical models: researchers may explore these models’ properties or design more efficient methods for solving them. Most projects require some computing, for instance to prepare data, implement a new solution algorithm or interface with graphics software. Some projects can lead to the creation or improvement of freeware. In sum, some of the research projects at GERAD are more applied and others are more theoretical. Some also require excellent knowledge of a computer programming language, while others do not.

Application examples

Groupe d’études et de recherche en analyse des décisions

Que fait-on au GERAD ?

Des mathématiques de la décision

Les chercheurs du GERAD (professeurs, professionnels de recherche, stagiaires postdoctoraux et étudiants) s'intéressent aux mathématiques de la décision sous toutes leurs formes. Ils développent des modèles et des méthodes mathématiques pour étudier/analyser/résoudre des problèmes pratiques issus de différents domaines d'applications et pour aider les organisations (entreprises privées ou organismes gouvernementaux) à prendre de meilleures décisions. Les mathématiques de la décision font partie de la science des données et sont à la base de la discipline émergente qu'est l'analytique (création de connaissances utiles à partir de données massives et d'expertises existantes). Elles englobent, en tout ou en partie, la recherche opérationnelle, l'optimisation mathématique, l'aide à la décision, la théorie des jeux, la simulation et la statistique. En pratique, elles se combinent souvent avec d'autres disciplines telles que l'informatique, l'intelligence artificielle, la géomatique et les nouvelles technologies de l'information et de la communication (NTIC).

Des applications

Au GERAD, les domaines d'application sont variés : transport, logistique, énergie, environnement, ressources naturelles, télécommunications, ingénierie, finance, marketing, santé, etc. Les principaux axes et thèmes de recherche sont listés ici. Ci-bas, vous trouverez des exemples d'applications qui sont traitées au GERAD.

Des projets de recherche

Les projets de recherche menés au GERAD sont souvent issus d'applications réelles qui ne peuvent être traitées de façon adéquate par les techniques existantes. Les chercheurs sont alors amenés à développer des modèles et des méthodes (algorithmes) de résolution pour traiter ces applications. Pour ce faire, ils doivent bien souvent produire des résultats théoriques pour analyser le comportement des méthodes proposées et valider leur exactitude. D'autres projets émergent directement de modèles mathématiques connus pour lesquels on cherche à comprendre leurs propriétés ou à concevoir des méthodes de résolution plus efficaces. La plupart des projets requièrent un développement informatique pour préparer des données, implémenter un nouvel algorithme de résolution ou interfacer avec un logiciel graphique par exemple. Certains projets peuvent mener à la création ou à l'amélioration d'un logiciel libre. Au GERAD, il y a donc des projets de recherche plus appliqués, d'autres plus théoriques. Il y a aussi des projets de recherche qui demandent une très bonne maîtrise d'un langage de programmation informatique et d'autres qui n'ont pas cette exigence.

Exemples d'applications