Group for Research in Decision Analysis

François Bellavance and Geneviève Gauthier honoured by the Statistical Society of Canada

Professors François Bellavance and Geneviève Gauthier won two of the 2018 Statistical Society of Canada (SSC) awards, presented on June 5 in Montréal in recognition of their exceptional contributions to advancing statistics.

Professor Bellavance received the Lise Manchester Award, which recognizes excellence in statistical research that considers problems of public interest and is potentially useful in developing Canadian public policy. The award was conferred upon him "for his sustained, outstanding fundamental statistical research on road safety issues, for his determining role in improving road safety regulations and legislation in the province of Quebec, and for elevating the social debate and acceptance of road safety measures through the effective communication of statistical evidence."

Professor Gauthier was presented with the Award for Impact of Applied and Collaborative Work. The SSC praised "her outstanding contributions to the promotion of innovative statistical methodologies in financial engineering, and in the training of highly qualified personnel."

Groupe d’études et de recherche en analyse des décisions

François Bellavance et Geneviève Gauthier honorés par la Société statistique du Canada

Les professeurs François Bellavance et Geneviève Gauthier sont parmi les lauréats des prix 2018 de la Société statistique du Canada (SSC), qui ont été remis le 5 juin dernier à Montréal, soulignant ainsi leur contribution hors du commun à l’avancement de la statistique.

François Bellavance reçoit ainsi le prix Lise-Manchester, qui salue l’excellence de travaux de recherche statistique portant sur des questions d’intérêt public susceptibles de guider l’élaboration de politiques publiques au Canada. Ce prix lui est attribué « pour l’excellence de ses travaux de recherche statistique en sécurité routière, pour son rôle déterminant dans l’amélioration des règlements et de la législation en la matière au Québec, et pour avoir élevé le débat social et contribué à l’acceptation de nouvelles mesures de sécurité routière en communiquant des données et des arguments statistiques de façon efficace. »

Geneviève Gauthier obtient pour sa part le Prix pour l’impact de travaux de collaboration et de recherche appliquée. La SSC décerne ce prix à madame Gauthier « pour ses contributions exceptionnelles à la promotion de méthodes statistiques novatrices en ingénierie financière, et à la formation de personnel hautement qualifié. »