Group for Research in Decision Analysis

Gilbert Laporte wins the CORS Practice Prize

This year’s Practice Prize from the Canadian Operational Research Society (CORS) went to Émilie Dufour, Gilbert Laporte, Julie Paquette and Marie-Ève Rancourt, for their Logistics service network design for humanitarian response in East Africa project.

The goal of the competition is to recognize the outstanding application of operational research methods to solving practical problems. The criteria considered in evaluating submissions are project impact on the client organization, contribution to the practice of operational research, quality of analysis, degree of challenge and quality of written and oral presentations.

The client organization for this project was the United Nations Humanitarian Response Depot (UNHRD), the largest UN network of depots for humanitarian supplies. The four researchers analyzed the potential benefits of adding a regional distribution centre in Kampala, Uganda, to the UNHRD network. They used fieldwork, simulation, optimization and statistical analyses to assess the costs of pre-positioning relief items in Kampala and to propose a robust stocking solution. The UNHRD has already begun implementing the solution proposed in this study, which should result in a mean reduction of about 21% in costs for serving this region.

Groupe d’études et de recherche en analyse des décisions

Gilbert Laporte remporte le Prix de la pratique de la SCRO

Le Prix de la pratique de la Société canadienne de recherche opérationnelle (SCRO) a été attribué cette année à Émilie Dufour, Gilbert Laporte, Julie Paquette et Marie-Ève Rancourt, pour leur projet Logistics service network design for humanitarian response in East Africa.

Ce concours vise à reconnaître l’excellente application de la méthode de la recherche opérationnelle à la résolution de problèmes pratiques. Les critères considérés lors de l’évaluation des soumissions sont l’impact du projet au sein de l’organisation cliente, la contribution à la pratique de la recherche opérationnelle, la qualité de l’analyse, le niveau de difficulté du problème et la qualité des présentations écrites et orales du projet.

L’organisation cliente du projet primé est l’United Nations Humanitarian Response Depot (UNHRD), le plus important entrepôt de fournitures humanitaires des Nations Unies. Les quatre chercheurs ont analysé les bénéfices potentiels reliés à l’ajout à son réseau d’un centre de distribution régional à Kampala, en Uganda. Pour ce faire, ils ont effectué du travail de terrain, des simulations, de l’optimisation et des analyses statistiques pour évaluer le coût d’une mise en place anticipée de matériel d’urgence et pour proposer une solution robuste concernant les produits à y entreposer. L’UNHRD a déjà commencé à appliquer la solution proposée dans cette étude, ce qui devrait se traduire par une réduction moyenne d’environ 21 % des coûts pour desservir cette région.