Group for Research in Decision Analysis

Smart cities conference

Registration is required and free: https://symposia.gerad.ca/smart-cities/fr/register

The speakers will be:

  • Andreas Athienitis, Concordia University
  • Stéphane Guidoin, City of Montreal
  • Vivianne Gravel, B-Citi
  • Hani Mahmassani, Northwestern University
  • Guy-Armand Kamendje, Huawei

Mr. Andreas Athienitis is a professor in the Department of Building, Civil & Environmental Engineering at Concordia University, which was recently selected to launch a Canada Excellence Research Chair in Smart, Sustainable and Resilient Communities and Cities. He was also the scientific director of the NSERC Smart Net-zero Energy Buildings Strategic Research Network (2011–2016) and the founding director of the NSERC Solar Buildings Research Network (2005–2010). Mr. Stéphane Guidoin is the acting director of the smart and digital city office for the city of Montréal. He is in charge of defining and implementing strategic directions and an action plan for “Montréal, Smart and Digital City.” Ms. Vivianne Gravel is the CEO of B-CITI, a Montréal-based company offering data collection and analysis solutions for smart cities. Mr. Hani Mahmassani is a professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering and (by courtesy) Industrial Engineering and Management Sciences Engineering at Northwestern University, where he also directs the Transportation Center. His expertise is in the analysis, modelling, planning and optimization of multimodal transportation systems. Finally, Mr. Guy-Armand Kamendje is Senior Asic Design Engineer at Huawei Technologies, a large-scale multinational with offices in Montreal.

This event will be an opportunity to learn more about the needs and current directions being explored to make our cities smarter, and to discuss how GERAD members can contribute to improve the efficiency and resilience of our infrastructure.

The committee also hopes to organize a follow-up event in the fall to cover complementary topics such as the integration of ethical and legal issues in the collection and analysis of data from citizens in smart cities.

More details (exact schedule, titles and abstracts of the talks) will be sent to you shortly.

horaire.pdf (200 KB)

Retour aux activités
colloque

Conférence sur les villes intelligentes

iCalendar

18 mai 2018   09h00 — 12h30

Inscription obligatoire et gratuite : https://symposia.gerad.ca/smart-cities/fr/register

Les conférenciers seront :

  • Andreas Athienitis, Université Concordia
  • Stéphane Guidoin, Ville de Montréal
  • Vivianne Gravel, B-Citi
  • Hani Mahmassani, Université Northwestern
  • Guy-Armand Kamendje, Huawei

M. Andreas Athienitis est professeur au département de génie civil de l’Université Concordia et a dirigé récemment les réseaux stratégiques du CRSNG « Smart Net-zero Energy Buildings » (2011-2016) et « Solar Buildings Research Network » (2005-2010). L’Université Concordia a notamment été récemment retenue pour ouvrir une « Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur les collectivités et les villes intelligentes, durables et résilientes ». M. Stéphane Guidoin est directeur par intérim du Bureau de la ville intelligente et numérique. Il est chargé de définir et de mettre en œuvre les orientations stratégiques et le plan d’action pour « Montréal, ville intelligente et numérique ». Mme Vivianne Gravel est présidente de l’entreprise B-CITI, une entreprise située à Montréal qui offre des solutions pour la collecte et l’analyse des données dans les villes. M. Hani Mahmassani est professeur dans les départements de génie civil, génie industriel et management à l’Université Northwestern, où il dirige le centre sur les transports. Il est spécialiste de l’analyse, la modélisation, la planification et l’optimisation des réseaux de transport multimodaux. Enfin, M. Guy-Armand Kamendje est un ingénieur sénior de conception Asic chez Huawei Technologies, une multinationale de grand calibre possédant des bureaux à Montréal.

Cet événement sera l’occasion d’en apprendre plus sur les besoins et les initiatives actuellement développées pour rendre les villes plus intelligentes, et de discuter de la façon dont les chercheurs du GERAD peuvent contribuer à améliorer l’efficacité et la résilience des infrastructures.

Le comité espère aussi organiser un second événement à l’automne pour couvrir certains aspects supplémentaires, notamment la prise en compte des enjeux éthiques et légaux lors de la collecte et de l’utilisation des données des citoyens.

Plus de détails (horaire précis, titres et résumés des présentations) vous seront fournis prochainement.

Issmail El Hallaoui responsable
Jérôme Le Ny responsable
Roland P. Malhamé responsable

Lieu

Salle 1360
Pavillon André-Aisenstadt
Campus de l'Université de Montréal
2920, chemin de la Tour Montréal Québec H3T 1J4 Canada

horaire.pdf (220 Ko)

Axes de recherche

Applications de recherche