Group for Research in Decision Analysis

PHOEG helps obtaining extremal graphs

Hadrien Mélot Université de Mons, Belgium

Extremal graph theory aims to determine bounds for graph invariants as well as the graphs that attain those bounds. Some invariants may be hard to compute and it might be difficult for a human to develop intuitions about how they meld with graph structure.

There is thus a need for tools to help researchers explore the intricacies of these invariants. There already are attempts to reach that goal, e.g., Graph, GrInvIn, Graffiti, AutoGraphiX, Digenes, GraPHedron. However those tools do not fully meet our needs to obtain extremal graphs in an exact manner and to explore graph transformations. Being able to quickly make queries on graph invariants is also an interesting feature to quickly lighten or kill ideas in a research discussion, e.g., "which graphs are local minima for some transformation with respect to some invariant?" or "on which connected graphs are two invariants equal?".

In an attempt to answer such questions (and others), we are currently developing the Phoeg system, which can be viewed as a successor to GraPHedron. It uses a big database of graphs and works with the convex hull of the graphs as points in the invariants space in order to exactly obtain the extremal graphs (of small order) and infer optimal bounds on the invariants. This database also allows us to make queries on graphs. Phoeg goes one step further by helping in the process of designing a proof guided by successive applications of transformations from any graph to an extremal graph.


Free entrance.
Welcome to everyone!

Groupe d’études et de recherche en analyse des décisions

PHOEG helps obtaining extremal graphs

Hadrien Mélot Université de Mons, Belgique

L'objectif de la théorie extrémale des graphes est de déterminer des bornes sur des invariants ainsi que les graphes qui atteignent ces bornes. Certains invariants sont difficiles à calculer et il peut être complexe, pour un humain, de développer des intuitions sur leur influence sur la structure des graphes.

Il y a donc un besoin d'outils pour aider les chercheurs à explorer les subtilités de ces invariants. Il existe déjà plusieurs tentatives d'atteindre ce but, e.g., Graph, GrInvIn, Graffiti, AutoGraphiX, Digenes, GraPHedron. Cependant, ces outils ne rencontrent pas pleinement nos besoins pour obtenir des graphes extrêmes de façon exacte et pour explorer les transformations de graphes. Être capable de faire des requêtes rapides sur des invariants de graphes est également une fonctionnalité intéressante pour rapidement approfondir ou abandonner une idée lors d'une discussion de recherche, e.g., "quels graphes sont des minima locaux pour une transformation et un invariant donnés ?" ou "pour quels graphes connexes deux invariants donnés ont-ils les mêmes valeurs ?"

Dans le but de répondre à de telles questions, nous sommes en train de développer le système Phoeg, qui peut être vu comme un successeur de GraPHedron. Il utilise une grande base de données de graphes et travaille avec l'enveloppe convexe de graphes vu comme des points dans l'espace des invariants. De cette façon, il permet de déterminer de manière exacte les graphes extrêmes (de petit ordre) et d'inférer des bornes optimales sur les invariants. Cette base de données permet également de réaliser des requêtes sur les graphes. Phoeg va un pas plus loin en assistant le processus de conception de preuves guidées par l'application successive de transformations de n'importe quel graphe vers un graphe extrême.


Entrée gratuite.
Bienvenue à tous!